Sayville Students Inducted into National Junior Honor Society

Annual ceremony welcomes 46 new members.

Forty-six Sayville Middle School students who exemplified the five attributes of Scholarship, Service, Leadership, Character, & Citizenship, while maintaining a grade average of 95 or above for four quarters, joined the prestigious National Junior Honor Society during the annual induction ceremony.

Once again, NJHS advisor Mrs. Lloyd-Matthews, Guidance Counselor Janice Shuster, and Middle School Principal Thomas Murray recognized tradition at its best with a welcome to the inductees and their proud families during the evening ceremony.

Assisting with the celebration, current society members participated by opening with the Pledge of Allegiance (Anna Brennan), describing the five attributes: Scholarship (Calista Tomasetti), Service (Chase Hofmann), Leadership (Taylor Kobel), Character (Emily Osterloh), and Citizenship (Allyson Bricker), announcing the inductees (Gianna Fraccalvieri, Sarah Laterza, Kelly Marra and Erin Peyton), and lighting the symbolic candles (Griffin Mills). After all the new members received their certificates and handshakes from Mr. Murray on stage, they returned to their seats where current member Isabella Giovan had them stand and recite the NJHS pledge.

Closing the ceremony with parting words, Mrs. Lloyd-Matthews reminded the new members that they are required to continue upholding the attributes of scholarship, leadership, service, citizenship, and character as they complete their years at the Middle School, while Mr. Murray commended the students for bringing such pride to the Sayville Middle School community.

NJHS is the leading organization that recognizes exceptional middle-level students who have successfully demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, citizenship, and character throughout their Middle School years.

Congratulations to the following:


7th Grade Honor Society 2013

Chloe Argenziano

Meghan Caraher

Christopher Castelli

Daniel Cliff

Bella Coan

Megan Collins

James Cummings

Matthew Cutolo

Christopher D'Amour

Hanna Decker

Jenna Deignan

Danielle DelGiorno

Andrew Deutsch

Devin Dolan

Kathryn Donohue

Noelle Dufrenoy

Thomas Faughnan

Amelia Flaumenhaft

Cade Hansen

Christopher Hichborn

Jeremy Hirsch

Julia Hodgkinson

Hailey Keyser

Michael Lofaro

Moira Mahoney

Brenna McClellan

Marnie Monahan

Nicholas Moosa

Ryan C.  O'Connell

Carleigh O'Donoghue

Christina  O'Leary

Daniel Perun

Douglas Read

Philip III Rinaldi

Nicole Sugarman

Kristy Thomas

Gabriele Thornton

Declan Wallace

Kaitlin Weber

Amanda Wessels

John Wilkens

Ryan Wilson

8th Grade Honor Society 2013

Tyler Tuskan

Mary Elizabeth Wissemann

Alexander Worrell

Meghan Boothe


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something