Blue Point Students Earn Ride to Remember

The big prize in this year's fire safety poster contest for elementary students was a unique lift home from school.

Just before the holiday break, the winners of this year’s fire safety poster contest at Blue Point Elementary School, which was sponsored by the Blue Point Fire Department, received a ride home from school to remember —a ride aboard one of the department’s fire trucks.

The winners, three from each grade, were selected based on the artistic drawings they created urging their peers to take care when it comes to a fire and the tips to remember in order to remain safe.

Congratulations to this year’s winners and special thanks to their art teachers, Bev Maler and Carly Gayler, for helping them create their winning entries:

Kacey Hession
Sydney Pojero
William McCarthy
Tessa Orgonas
Anthony Russo
Justin Walter

Adelaina Salaway
Cecily Phua
Morgan Leigh-Manuell

Helen Williams
Audrey Saroka
Annie Buxton

Shown are Blue Point Elementary School students who were named winners in this year’s fire safety poster contest received a special ride home from school aboard a fire truck courtesy of the Blue Point Fire Department. The students are pictured here with Art Teacher Bev Maler, Interim Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction Miriam D. Flynn, Interim
Superintendent of Schools Neil Lederer, and Principal Diana Ketcham.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »